Skip to content Skip to footer

CPCS Cards!

  • What are CPCS cards?

CPCS (Construction Plant Competence Scheme) is a card scheme created to reflect and showcase the competence of plant operating personnel. Launched in the year 2003, CPCS is a standard to show how competent a plant worker is. CPCS was started due to requests put forward by several employers in the UK. It is controlled and run by the authority CITB (Construction Industry Training Board). The main objective of creating CPCS is to standardise different practices for plant operatives throughout the country.

CPCS Card is the most popular and widely recognized card which ensures that all the standards and rules are followed by the plant operatives. Most of the types of plants in the UK which are run by UKCG (United Kingdom Contractors Group) mandates the use of CPCS for all plant operatives.

There are two types of cards issued by the CPCS:

Red Trained Operator Card – This card shows that the holder of the card has been tested to meet all CPCS standards

Blue Competent Operator Card – This card reflects the competence of the plant operative

  • Who needs CPCS cards?

Anyone working in the construction industry in the UK should have this card. UKCG requires that all the plant operatives must have this card and several other companies in the construction sector are also starting to make it a requirement.

Indeed, at the moment, all the employers in the UK do not insist on a CPCS certification, specifically in the industries other than construction. If you require certification to show-off your skills, you can check various trainings and courses which our company offers by clicking on the ‘course calendar’ menu above.

  • How to obtain CPCS cards?

There are three stages to obtain CPCS cards. We can help during all the stages to make the process easier and smoother for you.

Stage 1 – After the completion of CPCS Technical Testing and CPCS Training, you are eligible to obtain a Red Trained Operator Card

Stage 2 – After the completion of a part of National Vocational Qualifications (NVQ) in your relevant occupation, you obtain the Blue Competent Card which lasts for 5 years

Stage 3 – You can renew your blue card every 5 years after taking a theory renewal test and proof of practical experience in your professional occupation

SB Skills Solutions Ltd
Units 4c
Selby Place
Tel. 01695 558420

Get CPCS Training from SB Skills Solution Ltd.

Leave a comment